IT Classroom
Give Away Your Device, Not Your Data 41
  • 友善列印版本

    05/2018

    When it is time to say good-bye to your old mobile phone, do take back the soul from the body - your data from the phone. This prevents information such as private photos, your contact list, or financial data from being exposed or abused. 

     

    The best practice is to back-up your data and erase it from your old phone before selling or giving it to others.

     

    Back-up your Data 

    You can use the official software provided by your phone manufacturer to back-up locally to a computer. For example, use iTunes for iPhone or Samsung Smart Switch for Samsung phones. This method is faster and can store multiple back-ups from different times. If you prefer accessibility, backing-up to the cloud would be your best choice. You can use iCloud for iPhone and Google drive for Android devices. 

     

    Back-up iPhone using iCloud 

    1. Connect your device to a Wi-Fi network.

     

    2. (Photo 1) Go to Settings > "your name", and tap iCloud. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings, then scroll down and tap iCloud.

     

    3. (Photo 2) Tap iCloud Backup. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Backup. Make sure that iCloud Backup is turned on.

     

    4. Tap Back Up Now. Stay connected to your Wi-Fi network until the process completes.

     

    You can check the progress and confirm the when the back-up is completed. Go to Settings > "your name" > iCloud > iCloud Backup. Under "Back Up Now" you can see the date and time of your last back-up.

     

    Back-up Android using your Google Account

    Here is one example for Samsung.

     

    1. (Photo 3) Tap Settings > Accounts > Google > "your email address" > Tick the boxes alongside for the data you want to back-up.

     

    2. (Photo 4) Tap menu button (or the 'three dots' icon in some phones) > Sync now.

     

    3. (Photo 5) Similarly, you can use Google Photo to back-up and synchronize photos. At the upper left, tap Menu > Settings > Backup & sync > turn on. Photos will back-up to Google.

     

    4. (Photo 6) Some apps can back-up data to the cloud, e.g. WhatsApp on Android devices can back-up to Google. Similarly, WhatsApp on iPhone can backup to iCloud.

     

    After backing-up your old phone to the cloud, when you login with your Apple ID or Google account on your new phone, you will have the option to setup the phone as a new phone or restore data from the cloud back-up.

     

    Erase Data

    After backing-up your data, you can follow these steps to erase all the data and return your old phone to the factory default:

     

    1. Logout of all associated accounts

     

    2. Power-off the phone, removing the SIM card and external memory card (if present)

     

    3. Power-up the phone

     

    4. Restore the phone to factory default settings

     

    Reset iPhone to Factory Default

    1. (Photo 7) To reset your iPhone go to Settings > General > Reset and then select Erase All Content and Settings.

     

    2. (Photo 7) After typing in your passcode if you've set one, a warning box will appear, with the option to Erase iPhone in red. Tap this.

     

    3. (Photo 7) You will need to enter your Apple ID password to confirm the action, then the iPhone will delete all stored data and return to the initial setup screen you saw when you first used the device.

     

    Reset Android Phone to Factory Default

    The location of Factory Reset in your settings will differ slightly depending on the model and operating system of your device. 

     

    - Settings > General Management > Reset > Factory data reset

     

    - Settings > Backup and reset > Factory data reset

     

    - Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

     

    Conclusion

    Backing-up to the cloud provides extra accessibility. However, if you would like to have multiple back-ups over a period of time or to keep the back-up files locally, the official software provided by phone manufacturer is a better choice.

     

    After backing-up, you should remove the SIM and any external memory cards. Then you can erase the data by restoring the phone to the factory default. 

     

    Backing-up and resetting your old phone is the best way to protect your data when you change phones and sell or give your old phone away.

    Share articles